Meet Hekani Jakhalu, the primary girl MLA elected to the Nagaland meeting

ByAngelic Loch

Mar 19, 2023

Hekani Jakhalu, who gained the Dimapur-III seat within the 2023 Nagaland Meeting elections, has develop into the primary girl to be elected to the 60-member Nagaland Meeting. NDPP’s Jakhalu defeated Lok Janshakti Birthday party (Ram Vilas) chief Azheto Zhimomi by way of 1,536 votes. 

Jakhalu, 48, is a legal professional and social entrepreneur. She did her Masters in Legislation in 2013 from the College of San Francisco College of Legislation. She runs a non-governmental group, YouthNet Nagaland, for the previous twenty years. 

Her NGO has been tagged as the preferred undertaking because it is helping hundreds of children who wish to learn about. It additionally supplies excellent trade alternatives to the youths of the state. In 2018, she were given the Nari Shakti Puraskar award from the President of India on World Girls’s Day for her contribution to the state early life. 

Additionally learn: Tripura, Meghalaya, Nagaland Election Effects 2023 Are living: Tripura CM Manik Saha wins The town Bordowali with 16,446 votes; Temjen Imna continues to steer in Alongtaki

She has been banking on her outreach via YouthNet for the elections. In her ballot manifesto, Jakhalu stated she desires to paintings for Early life Building, girls empowerment, minority rights, and type constituency. 

The counting for the Nagaland state meeting is underway, the place State Meeting elections have been hung on February 27. Nagaland recorded an 85.9 in step with cent voter turnout for the election to its 60-member Meeting. 

The NDPP, led by way of Leader Minister Neiphiu Rio, has been in an alliance with the BJP for the reason that final elections in 2018. The alliance, which had gained 30 seats within the earlier election, is lately main on 39 and is ready to retain energy in Nagaland. The bulk mark is 31 within the 60-seat Meeting. 

The BJP contested 20 seats, whilst the NDPP fought in 40, as in step with a seat-sharing settlement. 

4 girls applicants – Hekhani Jakhaulu, Salhoutuo Kruse, Hukali Sema and Rosy Thompson – contested the Nagaland Meeting election this time. 

Salhoutuonuo Kruse, additionally of the NDPP, could also be main from the Western Angami constituency by way of a margin of over 400 votes.

Additionally learn: Nagaland Election Effects 2023: Test complete record of constituency-wise winners

Supply Through